NCIGF 2021 Annual Report

Supporting the Insurance Promise

Image: Indianapolis, Indiana


The past two years have been challenging for the entire world. While not immune, the state insurance guaranty system navigated the choppy waters successfully. Not only has there been no interruption in service to insurance policyholders, but also a number of major goals were achieved. In 2021, NCIGF further established itself as the ultimate source of information and support when a property and casualty insurance company fails. Developments in technology, data security and public policy have solidified NCIGF’s critical role in state insurance regulation. NCIGF members were united under their policyholder protection banner and NCIGF continued to provide value to all stakeholders. NCIGF’s presence continues to bind our community together in pursuit of our policyholder protection mission.

Image: Cloud Gate “The Bean” Chicago, Illinois

Our Vision

To be the definitive national leader on matters related to insolvency and its consequences to policyholders and claimants protected by the state-based property and casualty guaranty fund system.

Image: Independence Hall, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Our Mission

To bring the greatest possible value to the member state property & casualty guaranty funds and the state-based guaranty fund system in operational support, communications and public policy development.

Image: San Francisco, California

A Video Message from NCIGF Leadership

A Video Message from NCIGF Leadership

Key Accomplishments

Scroll through using the arrow buttons or your touch screen to view each accomplishment

2021 Financials

Select each report for a larger view

2020-2021 NCIGF Board of Directors

Chad G. Anderson


Western Guaranty Fund Services

Joseph Torti III

Vice Chair

Vice President – Regulatory Affairs
Fairfax Inc.

Arthur M. Russell

Executive Director

Mississippi Insurance Guaranty Association

Chad E. Wilson

Associate Vice President, Government Relations

Nationwide Insurance

David G. Nadig

Senior Vice President & General Counsel

Allstate Insurance

Jenny L. Anzalone-Ackley

Deputy Director, Assessments and Guaranty Fund Reporting

Chubb NA Office of General Counsel

Katherine J. Evans

Vice President of Regulatory & Government Affairs

CSAA Insurance Group

Tamara W. Kopp

Executive Director

Missouri Property & Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association

Barbara Peterson Law

President & CEO

Guaranty Fund Management, Inc.

Christopher P. Roe

Senior Vice President Corporate and Government Affairs

CUNA Mutual Group

J. Smith “Smitty” Harrison

Executive Director/Secretary

South Carolina Property & Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association

John C. Wells

Executive Director

Louisiana Insurance Guaranty Association

Larry E. Hinton

Senior Counsel


Timothy M. Schotke

Executive Director

Illinois Insurance Guaranty Fund

Bradley A. Roeber

Executive director

California Insurance Guarantee Association

D. Keith Bell

Senior Vice President, Corporate Finance

The Travelers Companies, Inc.

Jeffery C. Alton

Vice President, Finance

CNA Insurance Companies

Joyce Hall Mellinger

Senior Vice President and Associate General Counsel

Zurich North America

Michael D. Boge

State Counsel Section, Corporate Law

State Farm Insurance Companies

William M. Lynch

Vice President & Chief State & Local Affairs Officer, Public Affairs

Liberty Mutual Insurance Company

2020 – 2021 NCIGF Staff


Roger H. Schmelzer

President & CEO

Amy J. Clark

Vice President & CFO, Director of Association Business Operations & Treasurer

Jeremy A. Sebring

Director of IT Services

Robin J. Webb-Reus

Communications & Member Engagement Director

John A. Blatt

General Counsel, Director of IT Strategies & Corporate Secretary

Ashley N. Rosenberger

Associate Legal Counsel & Corporate Secretary

Lynn Cantin

Meeting Planner

Richard L. Minnear

Lead Systems Engineer

Douglas P. Storz

Lead Programmer

Emily M. Jurey

Executive & Communications Assistant

Nate T. Jennings

Software Engineer

Kevin C. Leap

Manager of Accounting and Administration

Connor B. Inman

Business Systems Analyst

Victor M. Gichina

Graphic Design Intern

Steven B. Emerson

Software Engineer

Minh-Tri A. Dang

Communications Assistant